Okay Social Meedja World. Help me out….

May 31, 2012 at 1:50 pm Leave a comment

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

I have been and gone and done it.

I have approached a few rather large Companies and have asked them to consider sponsoring the blog. Before you ask this is not for me to make money and become a full-time blogger. I am asking said Companies if they would donate to a children’s charity and then I would add a link to my blog. I enclose some of the email sent:-

============================================================================================

Hello,
I am writing to you with what may seem an ‘off-beam’ request. I have been blogging to ask people to donate to children’s charities for a couple of years. I have built up a solid readership and am committed to blogging frequently, I would love you to have a look and see what you think. My blog is located at – https://wheniwas8.wordpress.com/
I would now like to take my blog to a slightly different level whereby I look for some sponsorship for the blog. Please note that this is not for me to make money, I would like sponsors to donate to a children’s charity so that my words, when read, will have a positive experience for children somewhere.
There are a few options to do this as follows:-
1. I could set up an advertising link on the blog and link it to an account that collects commissions. However, I would prefer no money to come to me directly.
2. I can add a link on my blog for your Company and you can donate a small monthly(?) sum to my Charity of the Month. I will select a new charity every month based on the charities that people have talked about on my blog or from a charity that you already subscribe to. I am also happy to write about your work in this regard.
3. I am not experienced in this kind of action and accept that you may have an established way of moving forward with this type of request so I am happy to take your advice.
Please note I am only approaching a few Companies to request this and only Companies whose ethics and brand are trusted and respected.
I am happy to discuss this with you. My email address is xxxx.com and I can also be contacted via phone at 99999999….
I will close by thanking you for taking the time to read and I hope to hear from you soon.
Regards,
Lesley

============================================================================================

So far a couple of ‘we are taking it under consideration’ and a couple of ‘we regrets’. I therefore want to ask you lot to help me out, even if you think I am doing the wrong thing. I don’t think I am but if you disagree and think I am selling out then let me know, I will try to answer any opinions. I think trying to raise money is my end-game and this is just a slightly different way to do it. The questions that I hope you can help me with:-

  • The email above – is it hitting the right note? Should I be wording it differently?
  • What kind of Companies should I be targeting? I know I would like to approach those who are ethical and have links to children. I am not asking for large sums, small monthly amounts direct to agreed charities would be, I think, the best way. I don’t want to be handling any money, that way complication lies.
  • Do you know of any Companies who would be interested in donating to charity on a fairly regular basis and would like some free advertising as a result? If you do please send them my way:) I am happy to write about their desire to do good…
Lastly, if there are any angles I haven’t considered here let me know. This is not my area of expertise (I think that is fairly obvious) but I think it does have a small degree of merit if I can persuade the right people to link in to this site. And to all Companies, wouldn’t you like to advertise with me? I am cheap and will say thank you an awful lot…….

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, Giving, Life, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , .

Tears and Smiles…. When Life Means Nothing…..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


