Taxation. One Man’s Immoral is Another Man’s Business?

June 21, 2012 at 9:21 am 14 comments

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

Well, I say, what a furore. Twitter is agog, the news is playing David Cameron on a loop and everyone has an opinion. What larks.

It really is like a bad joke. Did you hear about the comedian who met his Accountant? He made him look like a pariah.

People are piling on the bandwagon to express their dismay at Jimmy Carr’s tax avoidance. David Cameron called his actions morally wrong. I nearly choked watching that segment of the news last night. As I understand it, there are many businesses who have had tax debts written down or off in negotiations with Mr. Cameron and HMRC so to call the actions of one person morally wrong doesn’t really sit well with me.

Jimmy Carr has now tweeted a statement to say the following:-

I appreciate as a comedian, people will expect me to ‘make light’ of this situation, but I’m not going to in this statement.

“As this is obviously a serious matter. I met with a financial advisor and he said to me ‘Do you want to pay less tax? It’s totally legal’. I said ‘Yes’.”

“I now realise I’ve made a terrible error of judgement.

“Although I’ve been advised the K2 Tax scheme is entirely legal, and has been fully disclosed to HMRC (Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs).

“I’m no longer involved in it and will in future conduct my financial affairs much more responsibly. Apologies to everyone. Jimmy Carr.”

Mr. Carr is working to make the best of a PR nightmare. However, I point out a few of his words – ‘Although I have been advise the K2 Tax scheme is entirely legal’. And therein lies the rub.

HMRC and the Government know these loopholes are there. I am pretty certain that they also know many of those who use these loopholes. If that is the case, why have they not been closed? If I was extremely cynical I could say that they are convenient for friends but morally wrong for those who are not friends.

I believe in paying taxes, those taxes provide me with services and support those who don’t have employment due to circumstance, ill-health. I know many of you will say there are those who don’t want to and take advantage. Yes there are. I believe if you can work you should work and it doesn’t sit well with me that many ‘play the system’. However, many more have this support because they need it. It is not simple but it comes down to the same argument, loopholes need closed.

As for Mr. Carr? I don’t want to condemn him but I think he could have asked a few more questions when he agreed to his K2. I hope he goes back to his Accountant and HMRC and has a wee chat. Wouldn’t it be lovely if he was able to make some donations to charity from some of the monies saved? I think donating to a children’s charity would make him and everyone else feel better:) You knew I would say that, didn’t you?

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Charity, Children, Donating, Giving, Government, HMRC, Life, Twitter, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Social Media Exile News and Views

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gay Gasser  |  July 27, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    Well…I really did want to be a spy when I was 8 See attached: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJQoH33mVSw&feature=plcp

    Reply
  • 3. BettyYouCanCallMeAl  |  June 21, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Don’t tell my boss, but I think work is a human necessity that many find gives them a sense of achievement, worth and value. If you can quirk, do, it’s good for you! I’m happy to pay my taxes too because I’m proud to live in a country that has social welfare – what amounts to mercy for those who need it. It takes money from the “haves” to support the “have nots”. While I wish the “really have big time”would give more

    Reply
    • 4. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 21, 2012 at 10:16 pm

      Hi Betty and Yes I will call you Al,

      Have to agree, that is one reason we pay tax, to help those who don’t have. I would love to see more of the loaded peeps do more, if I was ever lucky enough to have loads I would want to make sure I do my bit.

      Thank you for writing to me:)

      Lesley x

      Reply
  • 5. Ivan Jelical  |  June 21, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    Poor judgement of Cameron to comment on an individual. The loop holes need closing. Countries such as Greece and Italy have abysmal tax collection records and look at their situation. There are lots of bigger fish for Cameron to fry, many of them Tory party donors…

    Reply
    • 6. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 21, 2012 at 10:14 pm

      Hi Neill,

      I see Cameron has decided today that he doesn’t want to comment on individuals today, wonder what advisors have been doing in the background:) And yes, there are many bigger fish that could be examined here.

      Lesley x

      Reply
      • 7. ds  |  June 22, 2012 at 9:33 am

        His reticence about Gary Barkow may not be unconnected to Barlow being a prominent Tory supporter at the 2010 election.

        Or is that just the most depraved cynicism on my part?

      • 8. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 22, 2012 at 9:30 pm

        Hi DS,

        Yes, I agree with you there.

        Lesley

  • 9. Stuart  |  June 21, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Jimmy Carr is actually following in a long line of comedian tax dodgers – Ken Dodd being the dodgiest (at least, the one who got caught). Even The Two Ronnies did it (Corbett discusses it in their autobiography). Nothing new under the sun I guess.

    I’m loathe to add any weight to ‘moral leadership’ provided by Cameron but I think dodging tax is an ethical issue – however I suspect when the prior morals of him and his cabinet are put to the test on this issue, he’ll be found wanting.

    Reply
    • 10. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 21, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      Hi Stuart,

      I do not believe in dodging tax either, perhaps if I earned squillions I might think differently (a joke in case you are wondering). I also see from today’s news that Mr. Cameron doesn’t want to comment on individual cases today, bless:)

      There will always be those who take advantage of the system, the people should think and the system needs work…..

      Lesley

      Reply
  • 11. ds  |  June 21, 2012 at 10:35 am

    I just find it interesting that he was lambasted by The Times, whose parent company NewsCorp registers much of its business in the Cayman Islands and pays around 7% UK tax on its profits. This is just as morally dubious but I don’t hear many squeals of outrage about that, especially not from the press. Still, it’s all managed to direct more attention away from poor unemployment figures, the doctors’ industrial action and , so job done for Dave I’d say.

    Reply
    • 12. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 21, 2012 at 10:37 am

      Hi DS,

      Could be that is true but perhaps the ‘morally wrong’ statement by Mr Cameron may come back to bite him? I think that was a foolish approach….

      Lesley

      Reply
  • 13. paul  |  June 21, 2012 at 10:29 am

    Carr should have used the occasion to expose all the other tax evaders including Camerons friends…Another comic wimp. Comedy in the classic term is comedy/tragic….and above all else it was used to communicate to ordinary people their plight….Carr is not even close, there is not one comedian who is these days, sadly. Bill Hicks might have something different to say.

    Reply
    • 14. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 21, 2012 at 10:33 am

      Paul,

      Perhaps this will fire him up to come out with a few pithy comments of his own. I would like to see a serious interview with Mr. Carr where he has done a little research, I think the information is very easily obtainable:)

      I agree with you re Bill Hicks and I think Lenny Bruce would have done it justice too.

      Thank you.

      Lesley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


