News or Silly Season?

September 24, 2012 at 11:34 am 4 comments

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

The term ‘silly season’ is normally applied to the summer months when Governments are in recess and fewer political stories make the headlines so other sources of news have to be found. However, I think it can also be used during the Conference season when political parties and other organisations announce their cunning plans for the next year. This week we have the Lib Dems, suffering from their slide down the polls and some latest approval ratings for Nick Clegg showing as little as 25%. I am interested to see how his big speech will be received during Conference but prior to Conference Mr. Clegg was doing the rounds with paper and television interviews.  So, I will talk a little about Mr. Clegg. I will not cover ‘that’ apology, please not the apology. So many have already spoken that I don’t need to add any words to this latest piece of ill-advised tomfoolery.

I want to cover Mr. Clegg’s assertion that part of the economic recovery has to come from movement on property, that is,  getting younger people on the property ladder. Saving for deposits is hard when all our bills seem to increase month on month and banks providing many hoops and hurdles to clear before lending thus the market is still slow. Mr. Clegg’s answer to this? Parents and grandparents can ‘draw’ on their pension pots to help provide the deposits for their children/grandchildren. Hmmm. Aren’t we being consistently told that it is our responsibility to save for our old age?  Fewer and fewer of us will have a final salary pension, stakeholder pensions are the reality for most of us. The State Pension age is increasing; I know that a State Pension at 60 is a dream long since passed for me. Most people my age do make calculations on when they can afford to retire and how little they will have to live on when they do. I do and will continue to save for my pension and am lucky in the approach my employer takes. I will never be rich, I reconciled myself to that many years ago but I hope to manage and think that is the best that the majority can hope for. So, raiding what I have saved even for my lovely children is not an option I will take. They can have all that remains when my clogs are popped but until then I will hold on to what I have.

I have often thought that the mark of a really clever politician is being able to present an unpalatable idea in a plausible manner, to sell an idea that doesn’t always make sense. You don’t have to admire their policy but you can give a nod to their skill. By this definition I do not consider Mr. Clegg to be a clever politician.

I  now move to a story that some may think firmly lies under the Silly Season umbrella but made me smile. It is the story of the Canadian dentist who has travelled back to Ireland to see if he can find the woman he briefly spoke to a year ago. They exchanged a couple of sentences at a small cafe in County Clare and she has been in his head and perhaps his heart ever since. I am a completely romantic sop, I admit that freely. A brief encounter story makes me smile. You may think him daft, I think he is taking a chance, that chance that you don’t want to live to regret. I applaud him and hope that even if he doesn’t meet that girl of his dreams that he will know that at least he tried.  The link to the story is here and I hope you take the time to read it and it makes you smile too – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19685982

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Charity, Children, Donating, Giving, Government, Life, Love, Nick Clegg, Politics, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Temptation? Power and Reason?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bob  |  September 24, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    Strange, I was just thinking about the Libdem conference reports when I saw your tweet and blog. I’m afraid their ideas so far are badly thought out and they just seem to be trying to distance themselves from the Cons.
    Clegg is an example of someone who doesn’t have any experience of running anything nor managing anything in real life. You can sometimes get off the starting blocks with the power of image and PR but sooner or later it’s necessary to bring some substance to bear (and I don’t mean the kind of substance you ingest). Unfortunately, he’s not the only member of Government that’s cast from this mold. Can you imagine a Fortune 500 appointing a CEO with the paper thin backgrounds some of our Government Ministers/Secs of State have?
    Now I feel like breaking into song Lesley….I’m sorry, so sorry…………
    Bob

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  September 25, 2012 at 8:16 am

      Oh Bob,

      An accurate and amusing comment, love it. I agree with you that they are trying to come up with policies that they can move into policy but they struggle as the Conservatives don’t seem to pay them too much attention from where I’m sitting?

      Spin is all very well but a lack of substance will always out.

      And now I am singing along 🙂

      Lesley x

      Reply
  • 3. Neill  |  September 24, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Rather than raiding mum and dads pension fund the govt. would be better building affordable social housing, so the buyers/tenants have money left to spend and/save…

    Reply
    • 4. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  September 24, 2012 at 10:34 pm

      Hi Neill,

      I know! I think it is one of the craziest ideas ever. We raid our pensions and then get criticised for not saving for our old age? Sheesh…

      Lesley x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


